The Melting Pot - Where All Glass Addicts Melt Together - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Which glasses??!!

Default Which glasses??!!

Im new to glass blowning and this forum,and Im looking for some advice on some glasses.

I need to buy a pair of glasses for mostly pipemaking. I am using didymium ones right now but Im starting to use more colour and I need better protection. I was thinking about getting these split lens ones.
    http://www.artglass1.com/didymiumsr.htm
    item number 9135

or else the 923 kind, but Im afraid those will be too dark. My other option is getting the flip up clip ons.

any advice or suggestions would be appreciated?

Default Re: Which glasses??!!

man get some blue ones

...theres only one way to go. AURA LENS. its your eyes man.

quality protection and customer service second to none. buy the best and **** the rest.

The only problem with the glasses you mentioned (from Sundance, no less!!!!!) is that they are not designed for safely working borosilicate glass.

The upper portion of the split lens is just plain didymium or ACE glass without an IR filter. The lower portion is just plain welding glass which does not have a sodium flare filter.

And as has been pointed out many many times, the Boroscopes have totally inadequate IR filtration in the entire lens.

This is a link for technical information on the basic filter types for all glassworkers: http://www.auralens.net/e_gwtechnical.cfm

This link takes you to the general information and ordering pages for Aura Lens Products (my company): http://www.auralens.net/m2_glassworker.cfm

I know those glasses are the best and that is what I really want but I cant afford them right now. What about getting ace-202 glasses and then getting clip on flip up shades to go with them?