The Melting Pot - Where All Glass Addicts Melt Together - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Boro in a crucible

Default Boro in a crucible

At what temperature does boro become molten enough in a crucible for dipping...if that makes sense. Also, is it best to pre-heat the crucible before using it and the set temp? These are new un-used crucibles.

Default Re: Boro in a crucible

2350.....heat that fukr real slow....and yes heat crucible than fill with lb and a half of color every hour or so(less air that way)

Thanks Steve...at what temp and rate would you recommend?

Perfect ! Thanks again

one more thing ,once you get crucible past 1700 theres no more worry bout shocking it so i ramp mine at full power after 1700 and i havent had any problems...

When are you going to fire up? I'd like to be included if you let me know the plan. I can bring whatever supplies you need. Heat protection base tube tools etc.
    I have some experience melting pots of boro and pulling tubing and love to play.
    Anyway we should reconnect soon give me a holler or stop by.

let me know if you guys need HELP

Quote Originally Posted by somewhere View Post
    When are you going to fire up? I'd like to be included if you let me know the plan. I can bring whatever supplies you need. Heat protection base tube tools etc.
    I have some experience melting pots of boro and pulling tubing and love to play.
    Anyway we should reconnect soon give me a holler or stop by.

I think we should head to Gainesville. Learn from the master.

My 110 electric Darby dipper is flashing a "firing too long" message. It can't seem to get past 2260. I know it's 110 so that's most likely the problem but can I dip into opaque Aqua at 2260?

Getting in late. I hope you resolved the problem. You really need to address the control issue. What brand model and options?