The Melting Pot - Where All Glass Addicts Melt Together - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on making test tubes

Default Need advice on making test tubes

Hi,

I'm a chemist and I need to make some custom test tubes. I need 200-300 of them and I can't afford the $3/tube that the glassblower at work will charge me. They also don't need to be perfect. Just 10mm OD, and 100 (up to 110mm) long. No one I can find sells them for a price I can afford and the big glass companies don't give me the time of day.

I have all the borosilicate tubing I need, I can cut the tubes, I can melt the glass in the Bunsen burner, however half of the tubes I've made crack, so I need to figure out a cheap cooling oven. Do you think a toaster oven set to bake at 500 would work? I just need the tubes to work out and not crack on cooling so they leak on me. I can clean out the ones I make.

The glass is not real thick, and I don't need perfection, just for them to be water tight. I'm prototyping an assay I'm running on plants to eliminate animal drug testing from my work. Since this is way outside the box of an idea (but it is working so far) the funding is non-existent and I have to do everything myself.

Thanks for any help or advice you can offer me.

Sincerely,

Matt

Default Re: Need advice on making test tubes

Toaster won't work, Annealing point is 1050. You can flame anneal with a bushy, reducing flame. Coat it in soot basically and then burn it all off.
    Quinn The Eskimo Designs

Facebook [Most up to date work here usually]

"Flower implosions are for sissy behoches, I am not a sissy behotch."
    -Funksizzle

im not familiar with your field but u said your company/university had an in house glass setup. they will not let u use that or at least the kiln?
    we want your soul