The Melting Pot - Where All Glass Addicts Melt Together - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Help with Crack off machine

Default Help with Crack off machine

So I have a job cutting 110 to 120 mm x 3mm Boro glass from Schott. I built this Crack off and have it working fairly well.

Could use some tips on how to be better with it, I'm a machinist by trade first time doing anything with glass. I have a new torch tip built with 3 flame holes. Running oxy-propane. Goes well enough could be a little faster maybe with 6 flame holes??

I've been running with the tip of one of the bright blue inner flames touching the glass, is that right way or should I just center the torch in the tube?

I also sometimes get a small axial Crack maybe 1/4" long on one end what causes this and how to avoid. End use is subject to high Temps and pretty sure the axial Crack will propegate longer and longer

Actual cut lengths are about 9" long

This was first torch head that only had one hole (several broken drill bits)

Default Re: Help with Crack off machine

i believe most crack off machines use hydrogen

I also noticed that if I try to flame polish the cut ends I get lots and lots of axial cracks. Customer is fine with me just touching the corners with a diamond pad though.

I crack off large tube on the lathe. A couple things I'll comment on but your milage may vary.

A sharp diamond or carbide point. A light but obvious score. I don't go all the way around the tube as I found that causes an uneven break. A single hole tip directly on the score for a count while spinning in the lathe. I don't use anything but a small single tip as I don't want to heat around the score with any blush from the flame. I count and once I find that number I use it as a guid to keep from over heating. I use a wet paper towel on the score if the count goes over and that usually starts the crack.

That is a excellent quality machine you built I wish you lived a little closer. I'd like to see it in person.