The Melting Pot - Where All Glass Addicts Melt Together - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: Self taught?!

Default Self taught?!

What does being "self taught" in glass mean to you?

I see a lot of people saying they are "self taught" when really, they had someone show them stuff, they watched tons of youtube videos, they chat with someone online who helps them figure things out, they read TMP and find everything they wanted to know at their fingertips. Classes, demos, seminars, etc, there is SO much information available now.

To me, this does not mean you are "self taught". This means you accessed information available to you, and learned from it, went to your shop and tried it, likely watched it again to see what you missed, and learned again. Someone took the time to place this information in a location that you can readily access, such as the message board you are reading right now.

When I started in 1995, self taught had a whole different meaning. There was no youtube, no TMP, there were a few books, and you were damn lucky if anyone opened their shop to you and showed you anything at all, let alone let you watch them work. We called this the "glass curtain" and noobs these days don't have to look for ways around it, like I did. I was actually mostly "self taught" for many years, except I had someone working next to me who often figured shit out and showed me, and vise versa. I haven't had the luxury of attending classes by other artists, even though I have taught many classes over the years. However I have had the privilege to work alongside many fantastic artists in the last 20 years, and I learned something from every one of them, and shared in return.

Someone very wise once told me; We are all students, and we are all teachers.
    Last edited by PyroChixRock; 03-05-2016 at 10:26 AM. Reason: because i failboat words
    ~Misha

Default Re: Self taught?!