The Melting Pot - Where All Glass Addicts Melt Together - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: I still haven't learned to build a pipe but just learned about palladium.

ksglass Lurker

Default I still haven't learned to build a pipe but just learned about palladium.

After being a member of the Melting Pot for about 2 years I've formed the interpretation that most of the members are either long-time, HIGHLY skilled artists -OR- artists trying to perfect their skill and trying to make a good, honest living creating art in their own way. I sell phone systems for a living basically. My business partner from 15 years ago told me his wife was looking into 'blowing glass" and asked for my input based upon creating a business model.

My guess is most people here could only give 2 shits about the business end beyond artistic ability and blowing glass, which is kinda my point in my response to him and his wife.

Even if my opinions are just plain stupid to you all I'd love to hear your opinions. Especially since this is advice I've actually given to a very successful couple. By the way, his wife is very well educated and already has a full-time career with benefits, great pay, etc:

There is very little science within the industry. several major manufacturers were shut down for creating cadmium (google bullseye glass shut down). I think had the very large glass company had an educated scientist they could have prevented a lot of layoffs. My point being, Science is missing from this industry.
    Lack of any type of progressive thinking in a mostly old-timer based industry. People listen to the old timers and take what they hear as gospel. It doesn't matter if it defy's logic, only matters if the old-timers say it. Once technology and the new artists make a name for themselves completely (in the next 5 years or less) this will change which makes it the perfect opportunity for ANY new way to do business that deals with the artists.