The Melting Pot - Where All Glass Addicts Melt Together - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice Sought on Modifying a Glass Muller

Default Advice Sought on Modifying a Glass Muller

Greetings,
    I'm new to the forum, have never done any technical work with glass, and I've got a quick technical question. I'm a painter and I own a glass muller (i.e., a solid glass object used to 'grind' paint. For example, one places a quantify of powdered pigment on a frosted glass slab, adds linseed oil, then uses the muller to grind (disperse) the pigment into the oil).

My muller is about 4" in diameter at the base but I believe it has a manufacturing defect: there's a raised 'lip' on the base (see attached pics) about 1/16". The transition from the bulbous base to the bottom grinding surface should be smooth, with no 'lip'. Mullers sell for about $70 and I bought this a long time ago therefor returning it is not an option. I'd like to modify it rather than discard it. Modifying it entails removing about 1/16" from the bottom of the muller and I assume this would be peformed by sanding or grinding the base down a little (Belt sander? Surface grinder? Other?). Can anyone recommend the best method and or tools, used to perform this operation?

Even though I have limited funds, I'll more than likely take this to someone and have them do it, rather than do it myself. I live in NYC, in Brooklyn near Pratt Institute, although to the best of my knowledge Pratt does not have a glass department. There's a bunch of glass stores (autoglass, etc) near to me so I was thinking of taking it to one of those, but I'm not sure if they are used to dealing with something like this rather than with glass sheet/plate, so I want to know what to ask them (i.e., if they have the correct tools) to perform the job.

Alternately, if anyone knows a place in NYC that can perform this please do post up.

Any suggestions?